Homemade Beauty

fullsizeoutput_49aCollege students are now at the stage of the semester where sleepless nights and stressful days are becoming the routine. It can be hard to sit down and settle down with the yourself for a moment and do something that makes you feel good. So, when I’m feeling stressed, I like to decompress with some quick and easy little spa treatments at home.

My favorite is a coffee body scrub that I make every now and again to smooth my skin and give it a younger and more vibrant feel and look. Sure, you can run to the store and grab a tub of something that will do the same, but it’s better to know exactly what kind of ingredients are being used( organic, fair trade, etc.) and it’s also much cheaper to just make it yourself. The recipe for this scrub is simple and quick to make with a prep time of about 15 minutes tops. My favorite recipe is one by The Coconut Mama because she encourages the use of organic ingredients.

This recipe is quick and easy to make so grab yourself a medium-sized bowl and let’s get started!

DSC_0238.JPG

Step 1: Gather your ingredients. You will need:

  1. Organic Coffee- Feel free to use fresh OR used grounds. Also it’s best to use organic if you can.
  2. Organic Sugar or Salt- I like to use sugar because I think it does the best at scrubbing, but if you do decide to use salt I’d recommend using Himalayan, Sea, or Kosher as they’re the larger grain variations.
  3. Organic Coconut oil
  4. 1/2 Tablespoon of Cinnamon: It’s optional, but it give the scrub a smell and little bit of a kick!
  5. 1 Table of Vanilla Extract: Again, an optional ingredient but a good way to give the scrub an even more pleasant smell.

Step 2: Prepare

Start by scooping your coconut oil out and melting it. You can do so by using the microwave, I recommend putting it in for 30 seconds tops, or you can melt it on the stove if you’re opposed to microwaves. Once your oil is melted allow it to sit and cool, but NOT solidify.

DSC_0248.JPG
I used Brad’s Organic that I picked up at a Market in Hoboken, but it’s way more important that it’s ORGANIC.

Step 3: Mix all your dry ingredients together

I’m sure the order doesn’t matter, but what I like to do is put my coffee first

DSC_0243.JPG

Then I put the sugar in and mix the two together

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Next, you can add your cinnamon and vanilla extract if you’d like. I opted to not do the vanilla extract this time around because I only had imitation on hand.

DSC_0261.JPG

Don’t forget to  add your cooled oil to the mixture

giphy.gif

Lastly, Mix it all up together

mxing.gif

Now you can transfer it into a sealed container such as a mason jar or other airtight containers and enjoy with that shower before your exam or after a long day of studying. Use it as often or as little as you like, but one or two times a week is what’s recommended.

fullsizeoutput_49a

 

Find the original recipe here.

Leave a Reply

